Official name: Republic of Estonia
Head of State: President
Constitution: passed on June 28th 1992
Government: Parliamentary Republic
Single chamber Parliament (Riigikogu) of 101 members
Currency: Eesti Kroon (EEK), 1 kroon = 100 sents.
Pegged to the Euro under currency board arrangement at rate
1 EUR = 15.6466 EEK
National Day: Independence Day, February 24th

Administrative division
Capital: Tallinn (398,434)
Other cities: Tartu (99,151), Narva (70,178),
Kohtla-Järve (47,484), Pärnu (45,000)

Estonia is divided: into 15 counties, 205 rural municipalities
and 42 towns

Area: 45 227 square km
Distances from Tallinn:
Helsinki 85 km, Riga 307 km, St Petersburg 395 km,
Stockholm 405 km, Vilnius 605 km

Flight times:
Helsinki 35 min, Stockholm 1 h, Copenhagen 1 h 30 min,
Moscow 1 h 40 min, Amsterdam 2 h 20 min,
London 2 h 45 min

Time Zone: GMT + 2 hours

Average Temperatures: -6ºC (February), +17ºC (July)
Major Natural Resources: Timber, oil shale, phosphorite, peat,
limestone, dolomite

Population: 1.37 million
in towns 70%
in rural municipalities 30%

Employed: 585.5 thousand
Ethnic groups: Estonians: 67.9%, Russians: 25.6%, Ukrainians: 2.1%

Language: Estonian. Other languages such as English, Russian and
Finnish are also widely spoken

Main Religion: Lutheran

More information about Estonia
President of Estonia:
Estonian State Web Centre:
Riigikogu (the Parliament):
Estonian Institute:
Estonian Country Guide:
Estonian Tourism Board:
Enterprise Estonia: