Above : Estonian Open Air Museum
The name "Rocca al Mare" alludes to its seaside location - the "cliff by the sea". The name comes from A. Girard de Soucanton’s summer estate, built in 1863. Neighbouring estates later borrowed the name, and today it applies to the entire region. Several of Tallinn’s worthy sights are located in this area. The area has become an attractive centre for spending free time, with cultural events, relaxation, sporting and shopping opportunities.
The Open Air Museum presents a unique collection of old Estonian buildings on a 79-hectare expanse of seaside land.
Farm buildings, windmills and water mills from various periods and regions have been brought together here. Folk holidays are celebrated in traditional style at the museum, and often folk dance and music can be enjoyed here.
Estonian Open Air Museum is located in a picturesque 79-hectare forest park by Kopli Bay.
Farm buildings from various times and places are on display, along with windmills, water mills and much more. The museum is outside of the city and its hectic hubbub, an ideal place to take a picnic and escape from city life.
Handicrafts are sold in the main gateway and horseback rides are also available. A village inn serves national dishes every day.